Lamesa ISD Home of the Golden Tornadoes

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
News and Announcements

District of Innovation Plan

In 2015 the 84th Texas Legislature passed HB 1842 giving rise to Texas Education Code Chapter 12A. This statute allows public school districts to obtain the District of Innovation designation and gain exemptions from specified sections of Texas Education Code by drafting a local innovation plan. Exemptions outlined in the plan provide the district more flexibility and local control while maintaining a comprehensive education program.

Meeting eligibility requirements, the Lamesa ISD board of trustees passed a resolution, held a public hearing and appointed an innovation committee during January 19, 2017 board meeting. The committee drafted an innovation plan over the next few months and approved it during the final meeting on April 12, 2017. In compliance with TEC 12A.005, the plan will be posted and open for public comment for 30 days starting April 14, 2017. The plan will then be presented to the board of trustees during the May board meeting and can be passed by two-thirds majority vote. If passed, the plan will be in effect for five years. During this period, the plan can be amended, rescinded or revised as outlined in TEC 12A.007.

Please direct questions or comments regarding the innovation plan to Jim Knight, DeAnn Drake or Chad Haskins by May 19th, 2017.
Read More »

Lamesa ISD Board of Trustees Early Voting

Early voting will be open Monday - Friday through May 2nd from 8:00am - 4:00pm at the Lamesa ISD Administration Building located at 201 N. Houston Ave.

Election Day Voting will be on Saturday, May 6th from 7:00am - 7:00pm at the Forrest Park Community Center located at 900 S. Houston Ave.
Read More »

Cheerleaders for 2017-18

2017-2018 Lamesa Middle School Cheerleaders:
Madi Derington, Samantha Galindo, Hannah Johnson, Keziah Salazar, Alyse Galindo, Kylee Perez, Madison Ramirez, and Zoey Trevino

2017-2018 Lamesa Middle School Mascot: Madison Salazar

2017-2018 Lamesa High School JV Cheerleaders:
Kelli Arguijo, Morgan Coomer, Melissa Lopez, Sarah Ramirez, Ariel Trevino, Daijah Whited, Savannah Garza, J'Lynn Jackson, Vanessa Moreau, Daneesha Ortiz, Kiersten Stewart, and Laynie Swafford

2017-2018 Lamesa High School Varsity Cheerleaders:
Kaci Christy, Destiny Galindo, Kaylyn Guzman, McKenna Harris, Yari Lopez, Leeloni Martin, Chelsey Northcott, Amber Ortegon, Klarissa Ortiz, Destiny Solis, Isabella Thompson, and Samantha Zapata

2017-2018 Lamesa High School Mascot: Erkow Stevenson
Read More »